alt

Conservation

Conservation

Definition of the major limiting factors

 In the majority of river basins of the South of the Far East deterioration of the environment hasn't reached yet that level when it can limit the number of salmon. To Hokkaido these factors are represented decisive for total disappearance of Sakhalin taimen of number of the rivers.

For the Russian part of an area the main reason, without exaggeration, a catastrophic situation with survival of populations of a taimen through passage is excessively high mortality under impact of both poaching, and trade fishing and amateur catch (Zolotukhin et al., 2000; Safronov, 2004; Zolotukhin, Semenchenko, 2008; Nikitin, 2012). Recently there is a lot of negative information on specialized poaching of the Sakhalin taimen, including representatives of indigenous peoples, on the rivers and gulfs of the Northeast.

Trade and in general any catch of a taimen on Sakhalin is forbidden, but he comes across as becatch when catching other fishes. Both fishermen-field men, and fans, as a rule, don't release caught taymen.

During actions for regulation of the admission on spawning of producers of the Pacific salmon (pink and chum salmon) on the fish-counting obstacles and on the  salmon hatcheries there is a restriction of natural local migrations on "the sea-the river" type. In cases of excessive restriction of the admission for spawning of producers of the Pacific salmon there is a decrease in the main food supply of juveniles of the Sakhalin taimen. Trade of fodder objects of a taimen also influences conditions of his survival.

When catching salmon various amateur hook tackles as bycatch also the Sakhalin taimen comes across. In most cases fishers don't release him (including where it is considered a protected species). Specialized fishing of trophy fish is often carried out. "Caught-release" the principle applied sometimes at the same time not fully keeps the released individuals as it is applied not properly and inadequate tools of fishing are used. Trophy copies sometimes are implemented on food and on production of souvenirs.

Total analysis of indicators of degradation of species

 The Sakhalin taimen  Parahucho perryi (Brevoort) - an excellent species indicator; existence of his healthy herd in this river basin - reliable sign of favorable natural conditions for salmon and also the moderate mode of fishery (including impact of sports fishing).

The initial small number and low ability to reproduction promotes the fastest disappearance of local populations in the conditions of the increasing anthropogenic press. Producers of taimen rather late, spawning of this species – not annual ripen, many mature individuals don't participate in reproduction. All this indicates adaptations of species to rather low natural mortality and very small natural potential of his reproduction.

Judging by fast and total disappearance of herds of  taimen in many small rivers, this species differs in rigid homing, and exchange of individuals (wandering) even between adjacent pools is small. It indicates the small number of the majority of local populations of this species and of their special vulnerability.

Special biological characteristics of taimen are also deeply involved in sharp reduction of this species: it is extremely later in comparison with others salmon maturing, it is need of long migration upstream to the place of spawning, it is a possibility of repeated return on spawning, this main habitat (except for the reproduction period) in the regions of the lowermost current which have undergone considerable destructions of the nature (flattening, drainage, etc.). These properties in significantly the changed environment, or are more right in artificially changed environment, create very adverse conditions for preservation of population of taimen (Fukushima et al., 2008).

Very small stream of genes between populations and the essential distinctions which are observed between them on morphology and biology indicate preservations of the various populations of species living throughout his area the need.

 The Sakhalin taimen belongs to category of most obvious "candidates" for special protection (Viability of populations, 1989). Bases for this purpose a little:

  1. The predator regulating the number of populations of other species and which absence finally leads to falling of a specific variety.
  2. A species which representatives from the human point of view have spiritual, esthetic, recreational or economic value.
  3. The rare species which has appeared under the threat of disappearance because of the person.

The Sakhalin taimen belongs to category of species  especially subject to extinction and needing careful protection and control (Primak, 2002):

  1. Species with rather narrow area.
  2. Species with the small size of the isolated populations.
  3. Species showing steady signs of reduction of the sizes of populations.
  4. Species with the low density of local populations.
  5. Species for which throughout life cycle big territories are necessary.
  6. Species of the large size.
  7. Species incapable of independent resettlement.
  8. Species – the seasonal migrant.
  9. Species with a low intra population genetic variety.
  10. Species with rather highly specialized requirements to an ecological niche.
  11. Species living in the stable environment (K-strategist).
  12. Species forming temporary aggregations (wintering).
  13. Species which the person hunts.

 For Far Easterners the Sakhalin taimen is a charismatic, "flag" species, the same live symbol of salmon ecosystems as the Amur tiger – a symbol of taiga ecosystems. In case of possible loss the unique taxon – an ancient monotypical  genus will disappear. His resource, scientific and indicator importance is extremely high. It is a perspective object for development of ecological tourism. Measures of his physical and territorial protection and also ecological and educational work are obviously insufficient.

Conservation of the Sakhalin taimen became focus of the international attention of nature protection and scientific community. The international seminars and symposiums devoted to this  species and a genus of taymen  have taken place in New Zealand, Japan and Poland (Makeev, 2012; Rand, 2012; Semenchenko, 2012). The Sakhalin taimen is included in the list of 100 main endangered species of world fauna made by IUCN and the London zoological society.

We urge the Government of the Russian Federation to assume global responsibility for conservation of a unique species.

In 2017 together with members of Sakhalin Taimen Conservation Network  and activists collective expert assessment of threats concerning ST and prioritization of nature protection actions is carried out. As a result the draft of "The action plan for conservation of the Sakhalin taimen in the Northeast of Sakhalin" is made and widespread.

Action plan for conservation of the Sakhalin taimen in the Northeast of Sakhalin

Appendix 2 to the Plan

Заголовок

Menu

alt

Сохранение

Определение основных лимитирующих факторов

 В большинстве речных бассейнов юга Дальнего Востока ухудшение качества природной среды еще не достигло того уровня, когда именно это может лимитировать численность лососевых рыб. На Хоккайдо именно эти факторы представляются решающими для полного исчезновения сахалинского тайменя из ряда рек.

Для российской части ареала основной причиной, без преувеличения, катастрофического положения с выживанием популяций проходного тайменя является чрезмерно высокая смертность под воздействием как браконьерства, так и промыслового лова и любительского вылова (Золотухин и др., 2000; Сафронов, 2004; Золотухин, Семенченко, 2008; Никитин, 2012). В последнее время появляется много негативной информации о специализированном браконьерстве сахалинского тайменя, в том числе представителями коренных малочисленных народностей, на реках и заливах Северо-Востока.

Промысел и вообще любой вылов тайменя на Сахалине запрещен, но он попадается в качестве прилова при ловле других рыб (как лососей, так и разнорыбицы). И рыбаки-промысловики, и любители, как правило, не выпускают пойманных тайменей.

В ходе проведения мероприятий по регулированию пропуска на нерест производителей тихоокеанских лососей (горбуши и кеты) на рыбоучетных заграждениях и забойках лососевых рыбоводных заводов происходит ограничение естественных локальных миграций по типу «море - река» и прилов. В случаях чрезмерного ограничения пропуска на нерест производителей тихоокеанских лососей происходит снижение основной кормовой базы молоди сахалинского тайменя. Промысел кормовых объектов тайменя также влияет на условия его выживания.

При ловле лососевых разнообразными любительскими  крючковыми снастями в качестве прилова попадается и сахалинский таймень. В большинстве случаев рыболовы не отпускают его (в том числе и там, где он считается охраняемым видом). Часто проводится специализированный лов трофейной рыбы. Применяемый иногда при этом принцип «поймал-отпусти» не в полной мере сохраняет выпущенных особей, так как применяется не должным образом и используются неадекватные орудия лова. Трофейные экземпляры иногда реализуются на питание и на изготовление сувениров.

 Суммарный анализ индикаторов деградации вида

 Проходной сахалинский таймень Parahucho perryi (Brevoort) - превосходный вид-индикатор; наличие его здорового стада в данном речном бассейне - надежный признак благоприятных естественных условий для лососевых рыб, а также умеренного режима рыболовства (включая воздействие спортивной рыбалки).

Исходная малочисленность и низкая способность к воспроизводству способствует скорейшему исчезновению локальных популяций в условиях увеличивающегося антропогенного пресса. Созревают производители тайменя относительно поздно, нерест данного вида – неежегодный, многие зрелые особи не участвуют в размножении. Все это указывает на адаптации вида к относительно невысокой естественной смертности и очень небольшой естественный потенциал его воспроизводства.

Судя по быстрому и полному исчезновению стад проходного тайменя во многих небольших реках, этот вид отличается жестким хомингом, а обмен особями (блуждание) даже между смежными бассейнами невелик. Это указывает на небольшую численность большинства локальных популяций данного вида и на их особую уязвимость.

Особые  биологические свойства тайменя также глубоко вовлечены в резкое сокращение данного вида: это крайне позднее по сравнению с другими лососевыми созревание, это необходимость длительной миграции вверх по течению к месту нереста, это возможность многократного возврата на нерест, это основное местообитание (за исключением периода размножения) в районах самого нижнего течения, подвергшихся значительным  разрушениям природы (спрямление, осушение и т. п.). Эти свойства в  существенно измененной окружающей среде, или вернее в искусственно измененной окружающей среде, создают как никогда неблагоприятные условия для сохранения популяции тайменя (Fukushima et al., 2008).

Очень небольшой поток генов между популяциями вида и наблюдающиеся между ними существенные различия по морфологии и биологии указывают на необходимость сохранения разнообразных популяций вида, обитающих на всем протяжении его ареала.

 Сахалинский таймень принадлежит к категории наиболее очевидных «кандидатов» на особую охрану (Жизнеспособность популяций, 1989). Оснований для этого несколько:

  1. Хищник, регулирующий численность популяций других видов и отсутствие которого в конечном итоге ведет к падению видового разнообразия.
  2. Вид, представители которого с человеческой точки зрения обладают духовной, эстетической, рекреационной или хозяйственной ценностью.
  3. Редкий вид, оказавшийся под угрозой исчезновения по вине человека.

 Сахалинский таймень принадлежит к категории видов, особенно подверженных вымиранию и нуждающихся в тщательной охране и контроле (Примак, 2002):

  1. Вид с относительно узким ареалом.
  2. Вид с небольшим размером изолированных популяций.
  3. Вид, демонстрирующий устойчивые признаки уменьшения размеров популяций.
  4. Вид с низкой плотностью локальных популяций.
  5. Вид, которому на протяжении жизненного цикла необходимы  большие территории.
  6. Вид крупного размера.
  7. Вид, неспособный к самостоятельному расселению.
  8. Вид – сезонный мигрант.
  9. Вид с низким внутрипопуляционным генетическим разнообразием.
  10. Вид с относительно узкоспециальными требованиями к экологической нише.
  11. Вид, обитающий в стабильной среде (К-стратег).
  12. Вид, образующий временные агрегации (зимовка).
  13. Вид, на который охотится человек.

 Для дальневосточников сахалинский таймень является харизматичным, «флаговым» видом, таким же живым символом лососевых экосистем, как амурский тигр – символ таежных экосистем. В случае возможной потери исчезнет уникальный таксон – древний монотипичный род. Его ресурсная, научная и индикаторная значимость чрезвычайно высока. Он является перспективным объектом для развития экологического туризма. Меры его физической и территориальной охраны, а также эколого-просветительской работы явно недостаточны.

Сохранение сахалинского тайменя стало фокусом международного внимания природоохранной и научной общественности. Международные семинары и симпозиумы, посвященные  этому виду и роду тайменей, прошли в Новой Зеландии, Японии и Польше (Макеев, 2012; Rand, 2012; Семенченко, 2012). Сахалинский таймень включен в список 100 главных исчезающих видов мировой фауны, составленный МСОП и Лондонским зоологическим обществом.

Мы призываем Правительство Российской Федерации принять на себя глобальную ответственность за сохранение уникального вида.

В 2017 г. совместно с членами Сети сохранения СТ и активистами проведена коллективная экспертная оценка угроз в отношении СТ и приоритизация природоохранных действий. В итоге составлен и распространен проект "Плана действий по сохранению сахалинского тайменя на Северо-Востоке Сахалина". 

План действий по сохранению сахалинского тайменя на Северо-Востоке Сахалина

Приложение 2 к Плану

Заголовок

Меню